restpro.blogg.se

Weird west news
Weird west news










Choices in Weird West lead to my favorite kind of consequences: Visible ones. Whatever you do in the world will, in some way, be shown to you - and not in the same way that Skyrim did, where you’d kill a world-destroying dragon and be called a nobody. Killing a character or leaving them alive changes main quests, saving people or leaving them to die changes locations. In a moment that hooked me into the game, I realized that I had turned a major boss into a simple paycheck.Ĭhoices and consequences in Weird West overlap each character, making the game just about as immersive sim as it gets. I ended up taking his poster off a bounty board with another different character, just because I needed the cash. I opted for the former, and when I started my adventure as the game’s second character, found a newspaper that said the gang boss was still alive and that his group was still kidnapping people across the west. At the end of the first character’s act, for instance, I could either immediately save my husband or chase after the boss of the gang that kidnapped him. Every decision - including whether or not players pursue some optional objectives - feeds into the development of the game’s world and its ending. The passage of time is just one of the many variables Weird West keeps track of. An adventure might feel like it took 20 minutes, but for the character, it’s been a week. Similarly, time passes as players travel from town to abandoned mine and back to town. Weird West takes the same approach to travel as the original Fallout, where each location is its own zone that players have to travel between on the map. Only a corner of the game’s sizable map is visible - though it’s not like you’ll actually see every inch of it. In a moment that hooked me into the game, I realized that I had turned a major boss into a simple paycheck.Īt this point, traveling across the West is at its most exciting. To do so, I could kill the owner and find out or wait for night and sneak in through the window. I quickly notice that there’s a house on the farm, which I could break into if I so dared. At the start of the mission, my first goal was to retrieve my horse.

weird west news

I started by traveling to another farmstead, and immediately, Weird West showed me that I was allowed to do whatever I wanted. Players start off as a woman whose husband is kidnapped, forcing her to pick up her guns and return to her bounty hunting ways as she tracks the villains that took her man.ĭuring this first adventure, the West is large, scary, and strange. Each is unique to the game’s setting in their own way.

weird west news

Weird West doesn’t put players into the shoes of one cowpoke, but five different figures. Instead, Weird West‘s take on a fictional American frontier meets Dungeons & Dragons hosts the most engaging stories, even when it shows its janky side.

weird west news

It clearly has Dishonored‘s bones, offering players multiple ways to sort out encounters, though it lacks the same polish. Weird West, an immersive sim from two of the minds behind Dishonored, is a much more unique story. That’s how I was originally sold on Weird West.īut Weird West is not a cowboy game.












Weird west news